Let me introduce myself…

By: Ben

My name is Ben.  I am a 31 year old father of one and am happily married to my wife.  Our daughter is about to turn one year old in January.  She’s a ball of energy, sass, fire and independence.

I currently work at an Accelerated High School where I teach 9th grade Pre-AP World History.  I’ve been in this position for four years now and after the birth of my daughter in January, I decided the time was right for me to pursue a Master’s Degree in Political Science.

After my undergraduate, I was a bachelor for five years and once I married my wife, we were married for a little over two years before we had a child.  My timing could not be worse to pursue a Master’s Degree but my daughter’s birth gave me a sense of urgency.  As they say: “Shit got real.”  So, I just finished my first semester in graduate school with a 4.0–the professors took pity on me, I’m sure.  I can’t imagine how I pulled A’s in both of those classes–but I digress.

As if being a full time husband, father and teacher weren’t enough, it was my bright idea for Tate and I to embark on this blogging journey.  You can read all about how this adventure began under the “About” section of this blog, so I don’t feel the need to go into detail on that again.  Suffice it to say, Tate and I, along with every parent I am sure, have some great stories, shenanigans and misadventures with our  respective children and we want to share this with you as a way to make you laugh or feel better about your parenting skills and style. She and I both have a “style” of parenting which probably runs counter to the tomes of parenting books and advice out there.  But whatever keeps my wife happy, my kid healthy, alive, and happy is a win in my book.

The blog is brand new but please feel free to look around.  We will be updating as much as time allows–hopefully on a regular basis.  Please feel free to contact us–we’ve already thought about having other parent/contributors write entries for the blog if they desire.

Oh…and the name of the blog?  There’s a story behind that.  Stay tuned for that entry.

Leave a Reply

