Parenting Win

By: Ben

My daughter has recently turned 1.  As a result, she’s no longer on her supplemental formula and theoretically, she’s weaned off of the breast (a work in progress, as her favorite thing to do is climb into my wife’s lap, stick out her pouty bottom lip and whine the word Boob) and we have begun using regular cow’s milk.

Our daughter sleeps in the king sized bed that I bought for her last summer and quite graciously, she lets my wife and I sleep on a small sliver of bed on either side of her.  (Yes, we co-sleep. It’s easier this way. We need sleep too. Suck it.)  G (our daughter) was a small baby.  Not premature…just small.  She continues to grow but is a petite child so she still wakes up in the night to eat.  This wasn’t a problem when she nursed and drank supplemental formula–as we could put the formula in a bottle and have a bottle of water ready to mix up at a moment’s notice.  My wife could then feed her quickly and back to sleep everyone goes.

When we switched to cow’s milk…we ran into a problem.  We try to go to sleep between 8-9 each night and if we made up bottles with cow’s milk prior to bedtime like we’d done with formula, it wouldn’t stay good through the night.

Faced with the possibility of having to haul our asses out of bed numerous times in the middle of the night, my wife and I put our heads together and came up with a plan.  As they say, necessity is the mother of invention.

So here’s what we do.  My wife and I have 5 Yeti cups between us.  So, I make the bottles and use two of our large Yeti cups, place the prepared bottles into the cups and put the lid on the cups.  They keep our milk bottles nice and cold until they’re needed in the night.

I call this a parenting win for sure!  Never underestimate the power of our laziness. Parents all around the globe:  You’re welcome!  No applause necessary.

Leave a Reply

