Gary Busey

By: Tate

So I need to get real for a minute.

Because this is super important and it’s something that has bothered me for some time now.

So, February 3rd marks the day that music died. If you listen to Don McLean’s song American Pie. One of the best songs ever written. The song is,in part, about the day Ritchie Valens, the Big Bopper and Buddy Holly fatal plane crash that killed them all. The song then goes on for about 7 minutes describing Americana.  I wrote about this song for my 8th grade TAAS test and those losers in Austin could not appreciate it.

Anyway a couple of years ago I’m at my moms house watching the Buddy Hollly Story. Let me tell you, it’s really good.
“Who is this actor playing Buddy Holly” I ask. My mom says it’s Gary Busey.
The guy from VH1 Celebrity Rehab?
She tells me that before VH1, he had a motorcycle accident that caused a lot of brain damage.

Hold the phone!!!!

So the same Gary Busey that everyone makes fun of? He was actually like a for shiz actor??? And apparently had a horrible car crash with a lot of head trauma. And now he is a joke of Hollywood??? (or was a couple of years ago)

So now I’m all ticked off. And this is why; that scenario is plausible for everyone. How uncool is it that it is socially acceptable for people to make fun of Gary Busey?

I know Gary Busey jokes are out of style anyway but it used to be a thing.

So every February 3rd. I play Don MCLean’s American Pie . Because it’s about the day the music died and it makes me think about the Buddy Holly movie . Then I think about how ugly people are to Gary Busey. And so now I’m sad about how ugly the world can be to someone who experienced a terrible car crash.

I’m a ball of emotion dipped in a syrup of sadness. And it’s just pitiful.

Leave a Reply

