Restored Faith in Humanity

By: Tate
The Italy Basketball Boys team made it to regional semi-finals. For which the whole fam traveled an hour and a half to watch… and even though our team lost we were not disappointed.

See video below:

http://scttx.com/articles/tenaha-defeats-italy-players-display-inspiring-sportsmanship

If you are like me- you won’t click on that video link.

So basically:
In the last seconds of the game the Tenaha Coach put in a player with special needs. He makes a basket and the crowd goes wild.
But then Italy continues to play with the gentleman by continually feeding him the ball until the game is over. It was one of those gushing moments that made you want to throw rose petals everywhere because your faith is restored in humanity, yada.

BUT what you don’t realize is this: Two of those players in the video are brothers: Jr. and Nunu.
Omgeeee have you ever said you known a person named Nunu???? I love it and I feel super cool writing it out.
So anyway, Jr. and his brother Nunu are out on the court cheering on the young man and rebounding and passing him the ball.

But you don’t know that these brothers lost their dad suddenly this past year. As in, like 6 months ago. Did you get that????

2 high school boys experience terrible tragedy and enormous grief are in that video displaying amazing humanity. Thank you God that for incredible humans like Jr. and Nunu.

Tears, I’ve had tears all day long.
I hope I can leave a legacy such as that.
Probably won’t happen for me because while I got to see that beautiful display, I didn’t actually see the basket being made because my youngest had his leg stuck in the chair and I swear for a second we were going to have to cut it off in order to set him free.

Leave a Reply

